Geospatial – Solutions

Web mapping

The development of applications geared to the general public is impacted by specific constraints: the targeted public is not made up of experts in the field and the application workload can be very significant. This requires the implementation and the design of simple and ergonomic interfaces.

The web mapping application must also provide an adequate architecture, firmly based on the use of pre-generated tiles and on the load distribution between several servers. The development of such applications is strongly restraint by the planned context of the use and a customized solution is often the best answer to meet these specific needs.

http://map.geo.admin.ch

To offer all the required flexibility and performance to create a customized application geared to a general public use, Camptocamp developed the MapFish framework.

The MapFish Framework

MapFish is a flexible and complete framework for building rich web-mapping applications. It emphasizes high productivity, and high-quality development of the source code. MapFish is based on the Pylons Python web framework. MapFish extends Pylons with geospatial-specific functionality. For example MapFish provides specific tools for creating web services that allow querying and editing geographic objects.

MapFish also provides a complete RIA-oriented JavaScript toolbox, a JavaScript testing environment, and tools for compressing JavaScript code. The JavaScript toolbox is composed of the Sencha/ExtJS, OpenLayers, GeoExt JavaScript toolkits.

MapFish follows the Open Geospatial Consortium standards. This is achieved through OpenLayers or GeoExt supporting several OGC norms, like WMS, WFS, WMC, KML, GML etc.. MapFish is open source, and distributed under the BSD license.

Architecture of a MapFish solution

Geospatial – Solutions

Web mapping

Le développement d’applications grand public est marqué par des contraintes particulières : le public cible n’est pas composé d’experts du domaine et les charges subies par l’application peuvent être très importantes. Cela implique de mettre en œuvre des interfaces épurées et particulièrement ergonomiques.

De même, l’application web mapping doit offrir une architecture adéquate, fortement basée sur l’utilisation de tuiles pré-générées et sur la répartition de la charge entre plusieurs serveurs. Le développement de telles applications est fortement contraint par le contexte prévu d’utilisation et une solution sur mesure est souvent la solution adéquate pour répondre de façon optimale à ces attentes.

http://map.geo.admin.ch

Pour vous offrir toute la flexibilité et la performance nécessaires pour réaliser une application sur-mesure destinée à une utilisation grand public, Camptocamp a développé le framework MapFish.

Le Framework MapFish

MapFish est un framework de développement flexible et complet destiné à la réalisation d’applications webmapping riches en fonctionnalités et performantes. Le framework est orienté rapidité de développement ainsi que qualité du code source. Le framework MapFish propose des fonctionnalités spécifiques au domaine géospatial. Par exemple, MapFish offre des outils pour créer des services web permettant d’interroger et d’éditer des objets géographiques.

MapFish fournit une boîte à outils Javascript pour créer des interfaces utilisateurs ergonomiques, outils destinés aux développeurs pour tester ces applications et optimiser le code source Javascript afin de réduire les temps de téléchargement. Cette boîte à outils contient notamment Sencha/ExtJS, OpenLayers, et GeoExt.

MapFish respecte les standards de l’Open Geospatial Consortium, par exemple WMS, WFS, WMTS, WMC, KML, GML etc. MapFish est un logiciel Open Source soutenu par l’OSGeo.

 

Architecture d’une solution MapFish